Illinois JEA

IJEA Yearbook Contest

ijea lighter resized2

Contest Entry Information

Entry Form for 2019 Yearbook Contest (2018-19 Books)

Annual Postmark Deadline: Nov. 15


About the Contest

PLEASE NOTE: We may be moving our offices in 2019. If that happens, we will keep you updated on any address changes. All addresses listed on this page and in our forms are current. Be assured that your communications will reach us! 

The postmark deadline for entering the IJEA Yearbook Contest is Nov. 15 of each year.

The 2018 contest — which judged books covering the 2017-18 school year — is over, and the winners have been announced.

The 2019 contest will judge books from the 2018-19 school year.

In order to enter their students into this contest, advisers must be members of IJEA. Membership dues are $25 per year.

To join IJEA, complete and submit our online membership form OR our PDF membership form. In either case, mail your $25 membership fee to: Katie Comeford Fernandez, IJEA Treasurer, 2221 W. Belmont Ave. #204, Chicago, IL 60618.

All necessary payment instructions are included in both the online and PDF membership forms. For more information about IJEA membership, click here.

As a benefit, members are entitled to enter their students into either the yearbook or newspaper contest without having to pay the $10 contest fee. Advisers must, however, pay one of the contest fees if they enter their students in both contests.

Enrollment Divisions

Schools that enter the yearbook contest are assigned to a division based on enrollment. Because school enrollments change annually, division specifications also change from year to year.

The 2018 competition featured six divisions, from smallest schools (Division 1, enrollment 170 or fewer) to largest (Division 6, enrollment 2,031 or more).

To provide a more level playing field for all competitors, the IJEA Contest Committee applies the IHSA enrollment multiplier to nonboundaried schools.

As defined by the IHSA, a nonboundaried school is any private school, charter school, lab school, magnet school, residential school and any public school in a multi-high school district that does not accept students from a fixed portion of the district.

Previous Winners Since 2010

Congratulations to all of our winning publication staffs and advisers over the years! Our contest is dedicated to recognizing the hard work and dedication you put into telling the stories of your schools.


Official site of the Illinois Journalism Education Association, Eastern Illinois University, Charleston
IJEA Yearbook Contest